Previous Graffin Lecturers

The American Carbon Society, supported by grants from the Asbury Graphite Mills, Inc., sponsors this lecture series at North American universities in honor of George D. Graffin, a pioneer in the natural graphite industry. Each year the Society selects a lecturer who has made distinguished contributions to carbon science and engineering. The lecture is available by direct arrangement with the lecturer.

Additional information may be obtained from the Education Secretary: Weiming Lu (

Cristian Contescu, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (2015)
Khalid Lafdi, University of Dayton (2014)
Amod A. Ogale, Clemson University (2013)
Julian Norley, GrafTech International Holdings, Inc. (2012)
Rodney Andrews, University of Kentucky CAER (2011)
Ray Baughman, University of Texas (2009-2010)
Fred Baker, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (2008-2009)
Ljubisa R. Radovic, Pennsylvania State University (2007-2008)
Peter Eklund, Pennsylvania State University (2005-2006)
Robert H. Hurt, Brown University (2004-2005)
Tim Burchell, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (2002-2003)
Neil Murdie, Honeywell (1999-2000)
Peter A. Thrower, The Pennsylvania State University (1998-99)
Jim Zimmer, Aerotherm Corporation (1997-98)
Linda E. Jones, New York State College of Ceramics (1996-97)
Wesley P. Hoffman, Air Force Research Laboratory (1995-96)
E. A. Heintz, State University of New York at Buffalo (1994-95)
Dan D. Edie, Clemson University (1993)
Harry Marsh, Southern Illinois University (1992)
W. P. Eatherly, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (1991)
Gary G. Tibbetts, General Motors Corporation (1990)
Roger Bacon, Amoco Performance Products (1989)
Julius Jortner, Jortner Research and Engineering (1988)
Douglas W. McKee, General Electric Company (1987)
I. C. Lewis, UCAR Carbon Company (1986)
R. T. K. Baker, EXXON Corporation (1985)
Jack. L. White, The Aerospace Corporation (1984)
L. S. Singer, Union Carbide Corporation (1983)
Mildred S. Dresselhaus, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (1982)
D. B Fischbach, University of Washington (1981)
Philip L. Walker, Jr., The Pennsylvania State University (1980)
S. Mrozowski, State University of New York at Buffalo (1979)
R. J. Diefendorf, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (1978)