The American Carbon Society
The American Carbon Society

The American Carbon Society Executive & Advisory Committees

American Carbon Society Committee Members Are Elected Officials

The American Carbon Society Committees - Background Photo By Val Vesa
The American Carbon Society Executive & Advisory Committes


Chairman: Dr. Rodney Andrews (2019)
University of Kentucky Center for Applied Energy Research

Dr. Nidia Gallego (2016)
Oak Ridge National Lab

Dr. Weiming Lu (2016)
Technical Fellow
Collins Aerospace

Dr Cameron Thomson (2019)
Development Director, Existing Markets

E. Ashley Morris, Secretary-Treasurer (2019)
University of Kentucky Center for Applied Energy Research

Please send Meeting and Conference announcements to Julian Norley


2016-2022 Term

  • Renee Bagwell (Harper International)
  • Philip Bradford (NC State)
  • Liming Dai (Case Western Reserve)
  • Andriy Korchev (Cabot Corp.)
  • Satish Kumar (GA Tech)
  • Julian Norley (NeoGraf Solutions)
  • Karla Strong (AFRL)
  • Mauricio Terrones (Penn State)

2019-2025 Term

  • Ryan Paul (GrafTech International)
  • Chong Chen (Kairos Power)
  • Ronnie Mays (Meggitt)
  • Toshi Mayoshi (University of Akron)
  • Matt Weisenberger (University of Kentucky)


S. Mrozowski (State University of New York at Buffalo)
Julian Norley (GrafTech International Holdings Inc.)
P. L. Walker, Jr. (The Pennsylvania State University)
L. H. Juel (Great Lakes Carbon Corporation)
V. R. Deitz (U.S. Naval Research Laboratory)
J. T. Meers (Union Carbide Corporation)
J. C. Bokros (General Atomic Company/CarboMedics Inc.)
R. K. Carlson (POCO Graphite)
D. W. McKee (General Electric Company)
W. A. Nystrom (Stackpole Carbon Company)
D. Rivin (Cabot Corporation/U.S. Army Natick RD&E Center)
R. A. Meyer (The Aerospace Corporation/ University of California, Santa Barbara)
J. L. White (University of California, San Diego)
L. R. Radovic (Penn State University)
F. J. Derbyshire (University of Kentucky)
Dan D. Edie (Clemson University)
Frederick S. Baker (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)
Timothy D. Burchell (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)
Peter A. Thrower (Editor, Carbon Journal)
Nidia C. Gallego (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)
Joseph M. Calo (Brown University)
Gary Tibbetts (Applied Sciences)
Wesley Hoffman (AFRL/PRSM Edwards, CA)
Linda E. Jones (Alfred University)
Rodney Taylor (Orion Engineered Carbons)


  • Teresa Bandosz (City University of NY)
  • J. C. Bokros (General Atomic Corporation)
  • R. K. Carlson (POCO Graphite)
  • R. J. Diefendorf (Rensselaer Polytechnic University)
  • W. P. Eatherly (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)
  • Semih Eser (Penn State University)
  • D. B. Fischbach (University of Washington)
  • Nidia Gallego (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)
  • Jacek Jagiello (Micromeritics Instruments)
  • Khalid Lafdi (University of Dayton)
  • W. V. Kotlensky (TRW Systems Group)
  • A. I. Medalia (Cabot Corporation)
  • John McHugh (Michelin Americas Research)
  • John Montminy (SGL Carbon)
  • W. A. Nystrom (Stackpole Carbon Corporation)
  • C. A. Pratt (Air Force Materials Laboratory)
  • F. Rusinko, Jr. (Airco Speer Carbon-Graphite)
  • P. A. Thrower (The Pennsylvania State University)
  • L. L. Winter (Union Carbide Corporation)
  • L. A. Joo’ (Great Lakes Carbon Corporation)
  • D. W. McKee (General Electric Company)
  • D. Rivin (Cabot Corporation)
  • R. H. Bragg (University of California)
  • F. Fair (Airco Speer Carbon-Graphite)
  • C. R. Kennedy (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)
  • R. A. Meyer (The Aerospace Corporation)
  • I. Spain (University of Maryland/Colorado State University)
  • M. S. Dresselhaus (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
  • G. B. Engle (General Atomic Company/BF Goodrich/Nuclear & Aerospace Materials)
  • P. J. Reucroft (University of Kentucky)
  • L. S. Singer (Union Carbide Corporation)
  • R. T. K. Baker (Exxon Research and Engineering Company)
  • M. B. Dell (Alcoa Laboratories)
  • I. W. Gazda (Great Lakes Carbon Corporation)
  • W. E. Duggins (Union Oil of California)
  • E. A. Heintz (Airco Carbon Research/SUNY Buffalo)
  • J. A. Woolam (University of Nebraska)
  • J. W. McClure (University of Oregon)
  • C. R. Rowe (U.S. Naval Surface Weapons Center)
  • J. L. Wood (Bendix Corporation)
  • A. Sacco, Jr. (Worcester Polytechnic Institute)
  • R. T. Yang (SUNY Buffalo)
  • I. C. Lewis (Union Carbide Corporation)
  • R. J. Price (G. A. Technologies/BF Goodrich)
  • W. Kenan (Asbury Graphite Mills)
  • L. Peebles (Office of Naval Research)
  • R. W. Rosene (Great Lakes Carbon/SGL Carbon)
  • J. L. White (University of California, San Diego)
  • R. Bacon (Amoco Performance Products)
  • J. Newman (Ashland Carbon Fibers/Ashland Petroleum Company)
  • L. R. Radovic (The Pennsylvania State University)
  • C. F. J. Chang (UCAR Carbon Company)
  • W. P. Hoffman (Air Force Research Laboratory)
  • O. M. Mahajan (Amoco Research Center)
  • P. C. Pinoli (Lockheed Palo Alto Research)
  • F. S. Baker (Westvaco Corporation-Charleston Research Center)
  • T. D. Burchell (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)
  • J. F. Byrne (Westvaco Corporation)
  • F. J. Derbyshire (University of Kentucky)
  • G. S. Rellick (formerly with Aerospace Corporation)
  • Linda E. Jones (Alfred University)
  • Julius Jortner (Jortner Research & Engineering)
  • J. Gerard Lavin (Retired – DuPont Experimental Station)
  • Nicholas R. Pollack (Calgon Carbon Company)
  • Richard T. Lewis (GrafTech International)
  • Neil Murdie (Honeywell)
  • Gary G. Tibbetts (Applied Sciences, Inc.)
  • Deborah D. L. Chung (SUNY at Buffalo)
  • Bahram Fathollahi (UC San Diego)
  • Chris D. Levan (BP)
  • Jayne A. MacDonald (Royal Military College of Canada)
  • Gary Pruett (Goodrich Corporation)
  • James Klett (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)
  • Mark Southard (ConocoPhillips)
  • Albert Tamashausky (Asbury Graphite Mills)
  • Mark Thies (Clemson University)
  • Jim Zimmer (Carbon Consulting)
  • Rodney Andrews (University of Kentucky)
  • Fred Cannon (Penn State University)
  • Bob Hurt (Brown University)
  • Tim Burchell (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)
  • Ljubisa Radovic (Penn State University)
  • Bahram Fathollahi (U.C. San Diego)
  • Julian Norley (GrafTech International LTD)
  • William Betz (Supelco)
  • Carlos Leon y Leon (Hexcel Corporation)
  • John Linck (Goodrich Corporation)
  • Amod Ogale (Clemson University)
  • Keith Roussel (ConocoPhillips Company)
  • Rodney Taylor (Atlantic Hydrogen)
  • Bob Griffin (Phillips 66)
  • Weiming Lu (UTC)
  • Cameron Thomson (Ingevity)
  • Nirav Patel (GE Aviation)
  • Yury Gogotsi (Drexel University)
  • Cristian Contescu (ORNL)

To Join The American Carbon Society Register Here
Existing Members May Login To Our Membership Area Here