The American Carbon Society
The American Carbon Society

American Carbon Society Graffin Lecture Series

The American Carbon Society & Asbury Graphite Mills, Inc., Are Proud To Sponsor The Graffin Lecture Series Presented By Dr. Mauricio Terrones of Pennsylvania State University

The American Carbon Society Graffin Lecturer
The American Carbon Society Graffin Lecture Series


The Graffin Lecture Series

The American Carbon Society, supported by grants from Asbury Graphite Mills, Inc., sponsors a lecture series at North American universities in honor of George D. Graffin, a pioneer in the natural graphite industry.

Each year, the Society selects a lecturer who has made distinguished contributions to carbon science and engineering. The lecture is available by direct arrangement with this year’s lecturer – Dr. Mauricio Terrones.


The Current Graffin Lecturer

The 2019 Graffin Lecturer is: Dr. Mauricio Terrones, The Pennsylvania State University.


The Current Graffin Lecture


The lecture includes a general introduction to Nanoscience & Nanotechnology, and a discussion of the synthesis of carbon nanotubes & nanotube networks using different dopants during chemical vapor deposition.

To Find Out More, Download the 2019 Graffin Lecture Informational Flyer.


For More Information On Education In The American Carbon Society

For information on additional Educational Opportunities in the Society, please contact The Education Secretary:
Dr. Weiming Lu
Advanced Carbon Materials Lead
UTC Aerospace Systems


Previous Graffin Lecturers

  • Theresa Bandosz, City University of New York (2016/2017)
  • Cristian Contescu, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (2015)
  • Khalid Lafdi, University of Dayton (2014)
  • Amod A. Ogale, Clemson University (2013)
  • Julian Norley, GrafTech International Holdings, Inc. (2012) – VIDEO >>
  • Rodney Andrews, University of Kentucky CAER (2011)
  • Ray Baughman, University of Texas (2009-2010)
  • Fred Baker, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (2008-2009)
  • Ljubisa R. Radovic, Pennsylvania State University (2007-2008)
  • Peter Eklund, Pennsylvania State University (2005-2006)
  • Robert H. Hurt, Brown University (2004-2005)
  • Tim Burchell, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (2002-2003)
  • Neil Murdie, Honeywell (1999-2000)
  • Peter A. Thrower, The Pennsylvania State University (1998-99)
  • Jim Zimmer, Aerotherm Corporation (1997-98)
  • Linda E. Jones, New York State College of Ceramics (1996-97)
  • Wesley P. Hoffman, Air Force Research Laboratory (1995-96)
  • E. A. Heintz, State University of New York at Buffalo (1994-95)
  • Dan D. Edie, Clemson University (1993)
  • Harry Marsh, Southern Illinois University (1992)
  • W. P. Eatherly, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (1991)
  • Gary G. Tibbetts, General Motors Corporation (1990)
  • Roger Bacon, Amoco Performance Products (1989)
  • Julius Jortner, Jortner Research and Engineering (1988)
  • Douglas W. McKee, General Electric Company (1987)
  • I. C. Lewis, UCAR Carbon Company (1986)
  • R. T. K. Baker, EXXON Corporation (1985)
  • Jack. L. White, The Aerospace Corporation (1984)
  • L. S. Singer, Union Carbide Corporation (1983)
  • Mildred S. Dresselhaus, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (1982)
  • D. B Fischbach, University of Washington (1981)
  • Philip L. Walker, Jr., The Pennsylvania State University (1980)
  • S. Mrozowski, State University of New York at Buffalo (1979)
  • R. J. Diefendorf, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (1978)

Previous Graffin Lecture Video


To Join The American Carbon Society Register Here
Existing Members May Login To Our Membership Area Here